Computer Wont Stay Off And Bios Update Failing To Launch?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by pspfreak, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    Hello, I recently helped my friend build a computer. We are running into trouble where when he shuts it off, it turns it self back on after several seconds. The first thing i though of was Wake On Lan, but that is disabled. Next thing we went to try is a bios update. This is the weird thing. We have identical systems, to the case, ram, mobo, cpu, everything. When he tryes to run the bios exe it says Internal Failure Error No. 0x80040707. After clicking okay, it says error opening ebiossup DLL.

    Specs:
    DG41TY Intel Motherboard
    8GB Generic Ram DDR2
    Q6600 CPU
    Antec Earthwatts 500W 500D
  2. Online
    allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) ADMINISTRATOR Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,225
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  3. Offline
    Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Inactive Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,819
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Updating the BIOS from Windows only works some of the time, some MOBOs have settings in the BIOS to prevent you writing to the BIOS incase you break it. (again option to disable this is in the BIOS)

    There should be an update procedure for flashing the BIOS in the MOBO manual.

    I personally still prefer the DOS method with a Win95 bootable USB stick with the correct files on - works all the time
  4. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    Ok, so we got the bios to update with intel integrator assistant or something like that.... anyway, its still doing that.

    Here is a video of what i mean is happening
  5. Online
    allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) ADMINISTRATOR Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,225
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Did you use the Intel Integrator Toolkit?

    I really can't tell from the video what is going on. To clarify, it looks as if you are
    shutting Windows down using the Start orb and it is immediately booting back up?
  6. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    well, yes if you click shutdown it does that.
  7. Online
    allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) ADMINISTRATOR Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,225
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Have you checked your power button action settings? If not, right click the Start orb
    and select Properties. In the Properties Window next to Power Button action make sure
    the action in the drop down menu selection reads Shut Down.

    Attached Files:

  8. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    no, hes not pressing the button. hes clicking shut down.
  9. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    I just checked and it says shut down in the box
  10. Offline
    jaylach

    jaylach Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    475
    Odd as it may sound, can you rule out a short in the power button on the case?
  11. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    yes, because once we get it to stay off, it stays off.
  12. Online
    allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) ADMINISTRATOR Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,225
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'm assuming you have already tried to clear the CMOS and disabled automatic system restart and the problem still exists?
  13. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    Yeah, its all been done. Autorestart has been disabled. This is the weirdest thing i have ever seen.
  14. Offline
    jaylach

    jaylach Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    475
    This is no guarantee but may help narrow it down a little. Try booting in Safe Mode a few times. If it shuts down properly it can fairly well be figured that it is a software issue. If it shows the same symptoms it is most likely hardware.

    If things are OK in Safe Mode the first software action that I would take would be to go to a restore point before the issue started.

    Have you run full security scans? What security are you using?
  15. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    I'll try the safe mod test tomorrow but the virus program being used is malwarebytes anti-malware and avast
  16. Offline
    coyote

    coyote Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Seems like you've done most things, but I would Power down, then remove the CMOS battery for a few minutes, then power back up and set the bios to defaults.
  17. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    Ok, new news. IF you shut off using the power button, it stays off the first time. If you go start > Shut Down, it turns back on like that.
  18. Offline
    pspfreak

    pspfreak Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    new york
    Please Help!
  19. Offline
    jaylach

    jaylach Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    475
    About the only thing that comes to mind is that it is a self built system. Is the connecter for the poser button, drive light, etc. a single multi-pin plug or is it individually wired? If individually wired make sure that all connections are correct. This is a bit of a long shot as the power button actually works to shut down the system but there has to be a signal going through somewhere. I'm having a hard time picturing this being a software issue.
  20. Offline
    DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Retired CHF Staff

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,807
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    This is an unusual issue.
    I would double check the Case wires also because Case wires to Mobo are not the same on every Mobo.

Share This Page